The Sound of Glycolysis!

Standard

hills-are-alive

 

 

Do you remember the musical “The Sound of Music”? I was really young the first time I watched it and I remember thinking “Wow, this movie is really…long.” I watched it again a few months back and absolutely loved it! Not only were the characters loveable but the songs they sang such as “The Sound of Music” and “My favourite things” were catchy and melodious. So you could imagine how excited I felt when I found this vid on YouTube that sang the steps of glycolysis in the same tune that Maria and the children sang “Do-Re-Mi”. Take a look!

 

 

Glycolysis is the metabolic pathway that converts glucose into pyruvate and it occurs in the cytosol of the cell. The free energy released in this process is used to form the high-energy compounds ATP (adenosine triphosphate) and NADH (reduced nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide).

There are 10 enzyme reactions in total and two phases, the energy investment phase and the energy generation phase. In the energy investment phase, there are 2 irreversible reactions and 3 reversible, while in the energy generation phase there is only 1 irreversible and 4 reversible enzyme reactions.

Here is a pic I found that may help you remember the structures if you learn better with food in mind! 🙂

Glycolysis_before_lunch_by_llifi_kei

Photo Credit (http://llifi-kei.deviantart.com/art/Glycolysis-before-lunch-101607430)

The first time I found this vid was when I was learning glycolysis for my CAPE examinations and now it can still help me with my university studies as well! When learning the song, I found myself swaying from side to side and closing my eyes while singing (I was really into it XD). It really was a life saver for me because I always used to have trouble learning the steps of any chemical process if there were more than 5 steps involved lol. I have terrible memory. I’ve come to realize that my love for music can aid in my school work, I mean, if I can remember all the lyrics to Rihanna’s “Pour it Up” then why can’t I learn these steps in the same way right?

The video layout is creative with colourful drawings and diagrams plus the singer, Jenny Scoville Walsh, had a lovely voice that complemented the song very well. The steps were all in the correct order and the intro to the video explained very well some of the steps in the process of digestion.

The only things that I wish the video included in the song were the enzymes associated with each step of the breakdown of glucose for example, glucose >glucose 6-phosphate is catalyzed by the enzyme Hexokinase. I also would’ve liked that the step in which dihydroxyacetone phosphate is quickly converted to glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate would’ve been musically added to the song instead of just being put into brackets in the video. Other than that, the video is very well made and I recommend that you share it with others who would like a fun and easy way to remember the steps in glycolysis. Who knows, you might find yourself rocking out to the song just like this:

tumblr_m3tob5NRSo1rvrp9lo1_500

Have a safe and happy Easter!

References:

http://llifi-kei.deviantart.com/art/Glycolysis-before-lunch-101607430

http://www.cnikky.com/carrie-underwood-will-star-in-the-re-make-of-the-sound-of-music/

One response »

Leave a Reply

